Register   |       |   

Northwest Territories

Northwest TerritoriesCapital: Yellowknife
Population: 41,462 (2011)
Premier: Bob McLeod
Confederation Entry: July 15, 1870

The Northwest Territories (N.W.T.) were originally made up in 1870 from Rupert’s Land and the North-Western Territory. The capital, Yellowknife (population 20,000), is called the “diamond capital of North America.” More than half the population is Aboriginal (Dene, Inuit and Métis). The Mackenzie River, at 4,200 kilometres, is the second-longest river system in North America after the Mississippi and drains an area of 1.8 million square kilometres.


Helpful Videos

Copyright © 2014 Catholic Crosscultural Services. All rights reserved.